TitleAlcester Union
DescriptionThe Union: As a result of the new Poor Law Act of 1834, parishes were united to form Poor Law Unions, overseen by an elected Board of Guardians who were representatives from the parishes within that union. The administration of poor relief was centred around the Workhouse, which each union was required to provide. The Act stated that:
a) No relief would be given to an able bodied person outside of the workhouse
b) Conditions in the workhouse should be less desirable than that of the lowest class of labourer to discourage the need to enter for relief and encourage the poor to support themselves.

Alcester Poor Law Union was formed in1836 and was created from the following Warwickshire parishes:
Alcester, Arrow, Aston Cantlow, Bidford on Avon, Coughton, Exhall, Great Alne, Haselor, Ipsley, Kinwarton, Moreton Baggott, Oversley, Salford Priors, Sambourn[e], Spernhall, Studley, Weethley, Wixford.
[Worcestershire: Abbots Moreton, Feckenham, Inkberrow and Oldberrow]
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2022